Art Basel

17 September - 20 September 2020

Kerlin Gallery is delighted to announce our participation in Art Basel’s first iteration of Online Viewing Rooms, a new digital platform designed to connect galleries and collectors from around the world. 
 
Viewing Rooms launches on March 20 and remains live until March 25, with VIP preview days on the 18th and 19th. Our Online Viewing Room will feature Zhou Li. Her lyrical abstract paintings capture her acute sensory observations of the world: lightness and shadow, solidity and dissolution, the sense of being. Building upon the history of European painting and the central tenets of traditional Chinese art (Qiyun, or atmosphere; brush stroke; colour and structural arrangement), Zhou Li harnesses both traditions to develop a distinct painterly language. 
 
To view and inquire about available works, visit Kerlin Gallery’s Online Viewing Room using your Art Basel account, or create one here. 
 
• VIP Preview: 
 
March 18, 6pm HKT / 11am CET / 5am EST to 
March 20, 6pm HKT / 11am CET / 5am EST
 
• Public Days: 
 
March 20, 6pm HKT / 11am CET / 5am EST to 
March 25, 6pm HKT / 11am CET / 5am EST
 

Media Contact: Kerry McManus, kerry@kerlin.ie | +3531 670 9093

 

With support from Culture Ireland.

 

CULTURE_IRELAND_LOGO_BW

 


 

Exhibiting a solo presentation of new works by Zhou li .

 

Zhou Li (b. 1969, Hunan, China) creates paintings, sculptures, installations and public art using mixed media, including oil paint, washes of ink, charcoal and cotton cloth. Her lyrical abstract paintings capture her acute sensory observations of the world: lightness and shadow, solidity and dissolution, the sense of being. Building upon the history of European painting and the central tenets of traditional Chinese art (Qiyun, or atmosphere; brush stroke; colour and structural arrangement), Zhou Li harnesses both traditions to develop a distinct painterly language. Her free-flowing charcoal lines intersect with circles of paint in a gauzy, gossamer palette; these delicate, layered forms appear to float in space and follow a complex compositional arrangement that extends beyond the surface of the painting. Her paintings looks towards nature as a starting point, particularly the mountainous terrains of Southern China, but are imbued with a sense of much more: every brush stroke on the canvas is driven by her persistent query and pursuit of being.