Isabel Nolan at LIAF

Lofoten International Arts Festival, Jern & Bygg, Svolvær, Norway

28 August – 27 September 2015

Arts festival

Isabel Nolan will participate in Disappearing Acts, the main exhibition at Lofoten International Arts Festival (LIAF) in Norway. 


The exhibition Disappearing Acts presents 24 artists in a building which history and qualities to a very little degree is associated with what attracts hundreds of thousands of tourists to Lofoten.


Disappearing Acts is an exhibition of tentative things that takes place in an ugly building in a beautiful place. It’s an attempt at triangulating between a dream, a nightmare, and an indictment of our present moment. There are two words in the title of equal importance. An emphasis on the first word suggests a dooming predicament, an extinction of things, while an emphasis on the second suggests a performativity and perhaps even a playful façade.


The exhibition includes artwork that pings between these positions, seeking a space for imagining how the aesthetics of impending change can be performed and politicised from our current standpoint.


The venue for the exhibition is the "Jern & Bygg" premises in Svolvær. Jern & Bygg was a family-owned hardware store and furniture outlet that operated continuously from 1948 to 2010. The business developed through the decades and new sections were repeatedly added to the original building. When it closed in 2010, it had expanded to a scale of 3,500 square meters across several floors.


The building is now the last example of pragmatic waterfront architecture in Svolvær. After LIAF 2015, the building will be demolished.


Accompanying the exhibition is a free guidebook with presentations of all participating artist and an essay by the curators.


Disappearing Acts will also feature artists Anna Ådahl, Sam Basu, Sissel Blystad, Eva La Cour & Kristian Poulsen, Ciarán Ó Dochartaigh, Jason Dodge, Benedict Drew, Fabien Giraud & Raphaël Siboni, Tue Greenfort, Roderick Hietbrink, Carl Johan Högberg, Hedwig Houben, Steinar Haga Kristensen, Juha Pekka Matias Laakkonen, Dennis McNulty, Mercedes Mühleisen, Isabel Nolan, Katja Novitskova, Émilie Pitoiset, Elizabeth Price, John Russell, and Jon Benjamin Tallerås.

Visit Website